Item# ISBN: 978-0-8059-9143-7

by Ksenija Premur

The collection of short stories Mosaic consists of eight short stories, which are composed as various themes with the common light motive of the interconnecting of different cultures, especially European and Oriental. Some of those relations between cultures are mutually enriching, and some of them lead to a deep conflict of different philosophies of life and psychological make-up. The collection of short stories is structured namely to point out that two streams of mutual understanding or conflict of different cultures. Three stories are dedicated to the discovering of the deep and profound meaning of the life, going straight to the core questions of philosophy of life in which the main character is a boy who is trying to find answers to the most important issues of life. In the main character of the boy, the universal questions of man across all boundaries of cultural differences are meeting in the place of exactly the same core questions about life, inner strength, inner voice, and universal wisdom.

The stories are as well-centered around the paradox—stories begin in a realistic way of fabula and suddenly turn into paradox, which is unexpected and surprising to the reader. It is the way of showing how the reality in which we are living is full of unexpected turnovers or paradoxes. The most unusual events are the scenes where our power of judgment is tested, so stories are concentrated on those situations in life as well as the paradoxical aspect of it.


Ksenija Premur was born in Zagreb in 1962. In 1981, she started her studies of Philosophy and Russian language and literature at The Faculty of Philosophy in Zagreb, and she graduated from there in 1986, honoured with the Vice-Chancellor’s Award.

Since 1982, Ms. Premur has been a full member of Croatian Philosophical Society, and since 1987 a full member of the Society of Scientific and Technical Translators. Since 2003, she has been a member of the Croatian Society of Writers.

In the period between 1990 and 1993, Ms. Premur worked as a junior assistant at the Department of Philosophy, the Faculty of Philosophy in Zagreb, and along with giving seminars from 1 July 1991 to 31 August 1993, she also worked as a junior researcher in the project «Problems of contrastive philosophy (Asian and Western)» In 1997, she graduated from the Faculty of Philosophy in Ljubljana with a thesis «Dynamic structure of the conscience in Bergson’s philosophy». She has taken part in numerous conferences, both domestic and foreign, as a lecturer (Colloquium of Asian Philosophies in Zagreb in 1988), international congress in Ceret, France, in 1989; congress in Bath, England, in 1992).

She also received master’s degree in philology at the Faculty of Philosophy in Zagreb in 1997, with a thesis “Theory of Translation.” She has taken part in various international congresses with independent lectures on theory of literature (Colloquium in Moscow in 1985, World Congress in Warsaw in 1995).

In the academic year of 1997/98, she worked as a senior lecturer for philosophy, aesthetics, and Russian language at the High School of Musical Arts in Lovran, as well as an independent translator in Zagreb. In the period between 1998 and 2001, she worked as an assistant professor in the course for Oriental Philosophy at Croatian Studies, University of Zagreb.

Apart from scientific work, Ms. Premur is also engaged in literary work as an author, and she has published two novels, Lovers and Confessions of a Foreigner, as well as short story collections, Unusual Stories, Arabesque, and Short Stories.

In 2005, she acquired a status of a freelance artist.

(2006, paperback, 88 pages)

Availability: Usually ships in 2-3 business days.


Mosaic [E-book edition]
This book is also available for download as an E-Book in Adobe Acrobat (.pdf) format. Get the same great book to read on your computer or PDA! It's less expensive and it saves paper!

NOTE: In order to view this e-book, your computer will need the Adobe Acrobat Reader installed. Many computers are sold with the program already installed, but if you don't have it, you can download it for free: CLICK HERE
ISBN: 978-0-8059-9143-7 [E-book]

Share |